Gianni De Lobelle.

Audrey Horne

Audrey Horne’ return with their new album just over a year since the highly enjoyable ‘Youngblood’. Most of the band members are also in death/black metal bands, yet Audrey Horne is more a homage to the classic rock of bands like ‘Van Halen, Thin Lizzy and Iron Maiden’.

Axel Rudi Pell

As I mentioned here, 2014 is becoming an excellent year for Heavy Metal. The 53-year old German guitar player Axel Rudi Pell, who has been on the road since 1981, has just released his sixteenth studio album, ‘Into the Storm’, and the final result is so pleasant that it will be hard for any headbanger not to enjoy it.

The Dagger

Line Up :

Jani Kataja – Vocals

David Blomqvist – Guitars

Tobias Christiansson – Bass

Fred Estby – Drums

I have been having an affair with Scandinavian rock for a number of years now, so I was quick to stick my hand up to review the debut self-titled album by Swedish band ‘The Dagger.’ There is a hell of a lot of bands at the moment that are mining that ‘classic’ metal sound from the seventies and early eighties, ‘The Dagger’ prove that it’s not a bad thing.


Line Up : Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth – VocalsDave Link – GuitarD.D. Verni – BassDerek Tailer – GuitarRon Lipnicki - DrumsWhen we think about thrash, the big four of ‘Metallica, Megadeth, Anthrax and Slayer’ are usually the first thing that come to mind. There has always been a second tier of bands like ‘Overkill’, ‘Testament and Exodus’ that never quite reached as great a level of commercial success.


Hammerfall has had a steady and rather successful career; remaining one of the most consistent forerunners of the power metal scene. Twenty-one years and two hiatuses since their formation, (r)Evolution, the band’s ninth full length album, shows Hammerfall returning to their roots. Consistency was a part of strong part of Hammerfall’s repertoire until their last album, Infected, which saw the band completely shifting from their unwavering traditional power metal sound into darker territories via choppy song structures and plodding rhythms.


Line up :

Chris Jericho – vocals

Rich Ward - guitars, vocals

Frank Fontsere - drums

Billy Grey - guitars

Paul Di Leo - bass


Line up:

Hell Hofer | Vocals

Hampus Klang | Lead guitar

Alexander Lyrbo  | Lead guitar

Adam Hector | Bass

Gustav Hjortsjö | Drums

Michael Bormann

This is where reviewing a album becomes fun rather than laborious – in such much that Michael Bormann has seen it fit to release a 'Best of Ballads' album under the title of 'Love is Magic' and believe me in this case the title is so true.


After a long five years of waiting ‘Deathstars’ have risen from their graves with a new record called: ‘The Perfect Cult’ witch was released on (surprise, surprise…) Friday the 13th. It’s a solid ‘deathglam’ album wich stays in line of their previous work.


Subscribe to RSS - Gianni De Lobelle.