Escape Music


Talon is an American band, born from the ashes of Voxen, a band I personally hadn’t heard of, yet they seemed to have scored some success with their releae ‘Sacrifice’, an album that included a track that was used in the motion picture ‘Outbreak’, a movie that starred Dustin Hoffman.  The band was formed in 2002, and this is their fifth release so far.


This is the second album by British band Lawless, released 18 months after their debut album ‘Rock Savage’.  Just like their first album it has a sound that reminds you of the 80ies classic rock sound, which is no wonder, since most of the bandmembers have a history in music that goes back to those days.


Having reviewed other Impera albums in the past, I was surprised when I heard this album. It sounds a tad heavier than I’m used to with Impera.  This is their third album, and if you ask me their best so far.

Scar For Life

Line up :

Rob Mancini – Vocals

Alexandre Santos – Guitars

Teen Asty – Bass

Special guest : Vinnie Appice - Drums

The band revolves around founder and guitarist Alexandre Santos, who has worked with bevy of different musicians over the last six years or so. Worlds Entwined is the latest and features new vocalist Rob Mancini (Hotwire, Crush).


If you were around in the 80ies, and were a fan of rock music, this band’s name might ring a bell.  They released their first album under the name Saracen in 1981.  There was a hiatus between 1984 and 2003, but in 2003 they again released a full length album.


Seven is a band that has it’s roots in the late eighties, and who got signed by Polydor, releasing two singles on that label. Not having a contract for a full album, and being dropped by the label, the band finally broke up. 


Formed in 2000 by guitarist/Keyboardist Frédéric Slama, AOR has since constantly been releasing record upon record, always featuring some of the greatest names in the rock industry,  and almost always with L.A; somewhere in the title of the album. This new album, number 13 so far,   is no exception to that rule.  I’ll only name a few of the contributors : Bill Champlin (Chicago), Tommy Denander (Radioactive, Alice Cooper) and the list goes on.


Diesel are a brand new British band, despite the fact that the founding members have already earned their trademarks in the rock music business.  The band consists of Robert Hart on vocals (Bad Company/ Manfred Mann’s Earth Band), Jim Kirkpatrick on guitars, percussion, backing vocals and finally additional keyboards (FM) as backbone assisted by Jimmy Copley on drums, and finally Pat Davey on bass.


Lawless are a new band, featuring (veteran) members Neil Ogden and Paul Hume from Demon, and Howie G from Persian Risk, further completed by Headrush bassist Josh “Tabbie” Williams.

What these guys bring us is what I’d call eighties style classic hard rock.  It’s not bad, but it lacks originality.  St to say they’ve taken every cliché and put it in this album is a bit of an understatement.

Giuntini Project

I had never heard of Aldo Giuntini or for that matter of the Giuntini Project yet its seems he’s an Italian guitar Wizardand has released three prior Giuntini Project albums between 1993 and 2006.


Subscribe to RSS - Escape Music